Indeed, it had been the most chilly April ever. I remember, in my childhood once it was snowing in the middle of April, but only for two days, and, obviously, it was melting sugar dusting rather than regular snow. .. This year we have not been experiencing snow in April, but the matter is it was very coldy all the month long. I know one person, who is very glad of it – it’s my dog! Having thick, black fur she fares well in chill, but she’s very tired in a summertime.

I’m making pizza from spelt flour for the first time ( yeasty, of course). ( Maybe I will start with a cooking posts here, but later). To be frank, I don’ t like spelt and I’m not sure shall I repurchase it? I’m aware how wholesome this kind of flour is,  although  I like a classic pizza dough much more. Late in the night I hear clearly the sounds of the freight trains, which are at the other shore of the river Vistula…

Recently I saw a hedgehog. I’ve taken the photo, but into the darkness. I’ve been meeting her/him for the long time, about several years I think. Usually I am feeding this hog with my dog’s treats. Taking it very proof, it’s impossible to define, is that one hog or a few hogs… In my mind everytime I think : ” This hog again!”, but I don’t know for sure how many hogs I have been meeting. In general, they eat meat and have a tails. Did you know that? The tails are very short, therefore is really difficult to notice it. Hedgehogs can eat dog’s snacks and canned cat’s food. Here in Poland many people are completely sure that hedgehogs are vege persons, but not. People think that hogs eat an apples, because they remember that “knowledge” from the cartoon books and kiddo’s stories where a hedgehog has been always with an apple … The truth is, that they could eat an apple, and also meat. I’ve known, that hogs are in the habit of hunting for snakes!

In the Easter morning wild boars were here. Big herd it was, and maybe with kiddos because I ‘ve seen how huge is the area of their activity… Splendid! The shore of the pond  has been destroyed. They were digging, digging all the night beetwen the Great Saturday and the Easter Sunday. On the pavement next to the pond , which you know well from my photos, the boars leaved many pieces of  the terrain and grass – such an amazing view ! Fortunately, it seems  like people here rather like them and they don’t feel bothered with that mess. One man who lives here and is a hunter ( very dreadful person, indeed) had been trying hard to spread the hate against boars, but in vain. He went to the local newspaper , and also likes to talk to people here, about his annoying and backward ideas. ( Hunting is a backward idea, isn’t it). Nevertheless, looks like he cannot light the panic. .. I noticed the track of a boar’s hoof  and I captured it, as you see from the start. Do you remember those tracks I had been snapping during last winter?

Lot of birds search for  food in these grooves made by wild boars. Birds are very go-ahead persons, if it comes to eat. The kiddo-swan still remains here. I’m observing him/her ( rather him) day by day. Right now he seems to be adult , so as things go I think he will be gone soon. He will join some bigger group of swans, surely. I will make a post on him soon.

About kokodynia

My name is Kokodynia. I am interested in many things, like books, architecture, wild nature, kitchen, design, interiors, oh well... profound reflections about life, fashion...

4 responses »

  1. Lovely post. So glad the hunter is not making progress. Would love to see your hedgehog photo in the day if they do come out to eat then.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

