That post is very painful for me as a Pole. Her name is Maria Skłodowska -Curie, not Marie Curie. She is a Polish Nobel Prize winner and she has Polish name, not French. She is not a French, she only married a Frenchman, and her name is Maria not Marie. Her name is Skłodowska – Curie, and her parents were both from a noble families. Her father name is Władysław, not Ladislas and her mother name is Bronisława, not Bronsitwa. We have not in our language any names Ladislas nor Bronsitwa. This is sad that lot of people in the UK are laughing from   our language, which is in fact very difficult for them, but obviously this is not the reason to offending us and to introducing false as a truth.

 

Maria Sklodowska was born on the 7th November 1867 in Warsaw, to parents; Ladislas and Bronsitwa, who were both teachers. Disaster struck the family when she was eleven, her mother Bronsitwa died from tuberculosis. Marie worked as a tutor and governess, and studied physics, chemistry and maths alongside her job. In 1891 she moved to […]

 

via Nobel Prize Winner: Marie Curie — Roger Bussey

About kokodynia

My name is Kokodynia. I am interested in many things, like books, architecture, wild nature, kitchen, design, interiors, oh well... profound reflections about life, fashion...

7 responses »

  1. John says:

    Very interesting facts, Kokodynia. I knew much about Marie (Maria) Curie, but just what she done and worked with.She is one of the worlds most famous woman, and person, but not what you wrote. So I read on Wikipedia, that she took the name Marie when she travelled to France. She has got an element named after her, Curium, and a unit of measure, Curie. She had a very hard childhood but manage it well, because she was a intelligent and hard working woman. Hers father was a rich man but he lost all his money on bad investments, so she was forced to work as a teacher. She was the first woman to win the Nobel prize, that was a great thing on that a woman was so prominent! For example, women in Sweden were not allowed to vote until 1921! She has done much for humanity, unfortunately it was also her job made her ill, and she died.

    Like

    • kokodynia says:

      John, that’s gorgeous you are interested in chemistry as well! My mother and my grandfather and more persons in my family are chemician scientists, and some of them also worked with atomic energy, so I have a few books about Maria Skłodowska – Curie at home. Here in Warsaw is also very cosy, small museum about her, so I think I should go there again and then write my own post about Skłodowska -Curie.
      What do you mean ” but not what you wrote” – because I don’t know what did you want to say… About the name is possible while she lived in France she had been using a French name Marie, especially if her husband was French, but the matter is that if the name sounds Marie Curie lot of people think she is simply French. That is upsetting for people from Poland, because we are very proud of her. So if you are my blogger fellow please call her Skłodowska-Curie not Curie ( and remember that you had a Polish girlfriend, so you have a bit of Poland in your heart)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. John says:

    I meant what you wrote about her, I did´t , as hers real name is Maria, and about her life before she being famous. Sorry, I sometimes write to fast and don´t check, when I do post in my blog I use to edit every post several times after I post it, because I write for sloppily and miss letters. :)

    Like

  3. John says:

    Careless again :( I meant what you wrote about her, I did´t KNOW , I missed that word…

    Like

    • kokodynia says:

      I see, I was asking because I thought you read something about her and you wanted to tell me my info is incorrect or something. I have the book ” Maria Curie” written by her daughter and she is writing that her mother was always very proud of her Polish nationality, but when she had become very famous, Frenchmen made a French from her and she was suffering not only from illness but also because of that reason. thus, it is a problem and I am sure in many places the info she was Polish is deleted. I have heard, that in Riga in Latvia in some museum or in another public place is written that she was French! I also sometimes am very tired or in a hurry and I think it is not a problem :-)

      Liked by 1 person

      • John says:

        As the French did when Alfred Nobel died. They wanted his testament would work in France, because he lived there. But the court gave Sweden the right! St***d French :D

        Like

        • kokodynia says:

          Lol, French are sometimes too proud ! I am not a lover of that idea of a world or Europe with no borders and with no nationalities, although France is sometimes going too far… From the other side, they have splendid cousine and cultural heritage. I think they have enough, so it is not important to appropiate anything, what is not French ! I had no idea about this fact you told me, very interesting :D

          Like

Leave a Reply

