da-vinci

Wikipaintings.org

Poland has bought that  world famous masterpiece of art lately, in the last days of the past year. Obviously, the painting ” Lady with an Ermine” had been in Cracow also before, but the owner was Prince Adam Czartoryski and The Czartoryski’s Foundation, not the Polish state. They sold us also all their brilliant collection of art – the painting by Da Vinci is the highlight – along with the buildings, where the exhibition is located.

The main change is that since now this priceless heritage ( it was  assured on 300 mln euro during the trip through Europe in 2011 ) had become a  property of the state and is not allowed to travel anymore. Thus, you will come here, to Kraków! You will not regret. ” Dama con l’ermellino” ( the Italian name) is actually displayed at Wawel Royal Castle.

” Dama z gronostajem” ( the Polish name) is a portrait of Cecilia Gallerani, who was the mistress of Ludovico Sforza, the Duke of Milan, and she was only sixteen while the portrait was painted. And also  she was pregnant with the Duke, what is hidden –  probably she is holding the ermine ( a symbol of the Duke) just to hide her pregnancy.She bore him a son and he  married another woman, because Gallerani was not a noble. Such a love story! The painting is very beautiful and is the one of only four portraits of women, painted by Leonardo. The painting was done around 1489- 1490, and this is an oil painting on walnut wood panel.

About kokodynia

My name is Kokodynia. I am interested in many things, like books, architecture, wild nature, kitchen, design, interiors, oh well... profound reflections about life, fashion...

4 responses »

  1. John says:

    I´m not a fan of old expensive paintings. If I had one I would sale it admittedly and buy some painting I like. Can´t understand this people who pay millions for a painting. They should be in a museum so everyone can see them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • kokodynia says:

      This one is absolutely expensive, ha ha! So tell me about paintings, which you want to buy? Do you like something modern?

      Liked by 1 person

      • John says:

        Yes, I like modern art, painting of nature and animals. Even cities and old buildings. As I said, I can´t understand this people who buy arts for hundreds of millions! Do they sitting in their couch every night and look at them? :D

        Liked by 1 person

        • kokodynia says:

          Well, I have nothing against having very old painting in my living room, you know on my wall near a fireplace, but I think I should buy some castle for that :-)
          I think it is also good investment, the same if you have been buying plots or properties.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

