Sitting in the kitchen: December part 2

Hi, there! Welcome in 2017! But remember, we are still in December for a while.  Currently you have one leg in December, and the second here in 2017 – until you will finish read this post. White winter right now. Air from the North Pole is here. This time for sure! The weather is not very freezy to be frank, is about minus ten at a day and in a nightime is something like minus eightteen. Snow is beautiful and fresh, my dog is very keen on running and playing outside. She is a big fan of freeze, and the dog I had before also was. While sun is shining snow glitters in the sun rays. I adore the sound of crispy snow, especially I love to walk and hear it in a nighttime. The sound is like no other! ( Not to mention, that more snow and better visibility in the darkness, that means it isn’t a problem to notice a boar). The pond here is actually iced over, many people were skating there today – my dog was in the rapture of it. She found the weather rapturous at all! ( And I have been snapping photos). A glorious brain- wave! I had. Although I’m not absolutely sure… Do I really want my tv set ??? Imagine a homely, simply life without it! Or only you own it for watching old, carefully selected by yourself, DVD movies? Maybe I will do that… By now for example, whenever I have turned on this device, I must look at terrible and overwhelming ” Warning!”, ” Please remain at home!” and ” The Weather Alarm!” – all with printed characters and bold type, in every Polish channel, I think… You know, the freeze is a normal thing during winter season and that is not the reason to start the panic. I want to live my life. I mean to say I want to live my life with no bold type. ( Not literally, of course ). I need to be close to nature and I do know by myself how to live when the weather has gotten freezy.  This is going too far! I really should hide the tv set somewhere in the house. My wintry hat!

image201701070002

For that matter, this is the warmest and most comfy hat I ever had! I purchased this funny hat in a supermarket  four years ago and I still wear and love it. It looks like an acrylic yarn, although the lining is very warm. Along with good shoes and long puffer coat it’s enough for a stroll in  these creepy cold nights. Let’s talk Christmasy food at last!

image201701070003

Maybe I should rather post on something Maudy Thursday ( Donut’ s Day) and Mardi Gras, because it is been a while since Christmas, but I want to finish my story. So, we eat a carp, I have mentioned in my previous post. Then, the soup is a must, I mean to say, two soups. In Poland some of us are in the habit of eating ” barszcz” ( bortsch) – a beetroot soup with small dumplings inside. In other families they eat a mushrooms soup, but I’m not big on it. We are having barszcz with uszka for Christmas Eve . ( ” Uszka” – small ears, although that is not my sense of humour, I must say, that these dumplings filled with mushrooms are delicious) . Then, also awesome, “pierogi z kapustą i z grzybami” ( pierogies/dumplings stuffed with sauerkraut and dried mushrooms). And I have to mention, that these mushrooms must be mostly dried boletuses. Oh no, I forgot, before “pierogi” we  already ate a carp – that is correct! Go on! Right now, giving a presents!!! Then, sweets, cakes, coffee etc. At least in my household. But you can meet a Pole who will tell you another story, about compeletely other dishes and habits. Here is also popular ” ryba w galarecie”  what means a fish in a jelly, but this is not my favourite dish. Or ” śledż pod pierzyną” , very popular here in  the Masovia region ( a herring under a feather bed). This is a herring’s salad with creamy sauce – quite yummy, but my mother does not like it. I think very Polish tradition is to live in a multi-cultural society. I’m always very surprised, while I meet the opinion, that Polish culture is homogeneous. ( Popular belief in the U.S.) Absolutely not a truth! Oh, noI I forgot to tell you about speaking animals… This is lovely tradition from Polish rural areas, that in the Christmas Eve at midnight, pets and animals in the household are speaking with a human voice! Cows, dogs, hens, cats, donkey… This is also the custom of sharing wishes with them. See you soon and in another era, again!And wait for my photos, because these are taken with my vintage analogue camera.

2 thoughts on “Sitting in the kitchen: December part 2

  1. I read in the news today that you have really cold weather in Poland, and 10 people have frozen to death. We had two days with about -13°C, but nor its around +4-5°C. It had snowed in Saturday, but it was gone to Sunday. I also bought a new hat, got it today in the mail. It is a bluetooth hands free so I do not have to pick up the phone in the cold. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Today is getting warmer and is only about -6. I saw the map on the weather in Europe, and while we had -13 in a day, in Scandinavia it was+2 or +3. Weird a little bit… In fact, some people frozen to death, they were homeless people who had been outside during the night. This happens every year. They can get the help but they prefer to stay independent … A few days were more freezy and in the evening streets were empty, so I was strolling much longer than usual, ha ha. Near Cracow was minus 34 into a night during last weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

