Hi, everyone! We are already transported to another era, and right now we are standing at Rynek Główny in  medieval Kraków. The video here above is from XXI century, I brought it to you, because I found the video absolutely worthseeing. Don’t worry, that is in Polish only! I will tell you the same things in this post and in my next posts about medieval Cracow. I highly recommend to watch it, because of the sights of the interior of St. Mary’s Basilica ( The Mariacki Church).

Time, we are actually living in, is XIV century, and Mariacki Church is a new temple, built on the foundations of a former temple. It was a Romanesque church, destroyed during one of the Tartar’s invasions. Mariacki Church is in late Gothic style, and is most known from the Altar by Wit Stwosz ( Veit Stoss) – the Altar is very famous as a masterpiece of European Gothic art. ( I will post my next story on it). In the video you may also see a man, who is playing beautiful  bugle- call in one of the Basilica’s towers. This is Hejnał, as far as I’m concerned Hejnał is something like the national anthem, but is much older. Every day at midday you can hear it, if you are at Rynek ( Main Marketplace), and also by Polish Radio. I remember as a kid I was a massive lover of Hejnał from radio… Hejnał is ending too fast and randomly. This is the neverending tribute for a man, who died while  he was playing, asassinated from Tartar’s arrow. It is ending in the moment he died so long time ago, but we still remember. ( Another muslim attack in Europe).

Thus, I leave you with it, because I want you to watch the video, so I should not write too much. The next post will Christmasy, and then we will back in XIV century for more.

This is a drawing of Cracow from famous old book by Hartman Schedl ” Nuremberg Chronicle”, 1493.

 

medieval-cracow

Wikimedia Foundation

 

About kokodynia

My name is Kokodynia. I am interested in many things, like books, architecture, wild nature, kitchen, design, interiors, oh well... profound reflections about life, fashion...

2 responses »

  1. John says:

    Merry Christmas Kokodynia! In Swedish: God jul! Have a nice holiday :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

