Do you want to live with a falcon?

I mean, do you want to live with a falcon`s nest on your balcony? I guess, you would rather say : ” No, thank you!”. I also did! I said : ” No, no, nevermore!” and I immediately called my big dog. I allowed him to spend all his free time on the balcony.

A falcon`s nest is pretty big and … let me say this, bloody and unpleasant a little bit. Who wants to sit near those bones and read some poetry or blogging? Do you picture me, sitting next to a falcon, who is eating his/ her delicious meal?

Obviously, my flat is not at the top of Palace of Culture and Science, although they were HERE, on my balcony. Please, believe me! ( I have even witnesess). This is so crazy, isn`t it? I am wondering now, maybe these babies will looking for a good place for nest and it will happen again? Oh, no, no, no!

Here, in Warsaw, which is quite big town, are only two nests. Falcons are very rare birds in Poland, overall. Unlike  the United Kingdom or Spain, where they live in bigger populations, here we have only ten couples of these birds. So, imagine, how excited and thrilled I was, when I have been watching on them on my balcony. The second nest in the town is close to the building I live in… And… is on the balcony of the flat! Falcons have been managing to do it… Great idea, indeed! Those people have the nest about ten years, it`s fenced and people might  use only a half of the space. And many bones all around, no, no,no…

Today I am reading this book about Polish birds and I will translate it, because I feel like I should share it with you ( I mean, the chapter about falcons in Poland). Otherwise, some of the habits of this big birds are rather not very nice, so I want to skip it. Don`t be afraid! I will back with this post in a few days.

Newborn falcons in Warsaw

 

4 thoughts on “Do you want to live with a falcon?

    • I will keep U hanging for a few days …
      I have checked the information in many sources and is well known that falcons usually like to build a nest on a rock shelves, in the mountains. I think, they consider my balcony as a rock shelf… This is going too far :-)

      Like

Leave a Reply

